Connect with us

By Dom Agbakpe,


The draw for the eight (8th) edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup has been made.

The draw was held in Boulougne-Billancourt in the Seine Musicale Arts Centre in Paris, France on Saturday and sorted the 24 qualified teams into Six (6) sections of four (4) teams.

AWCON 18 Champions, Nigeria have been pooled in Group A alongside tournament host, France, Korea DPR and Norway.

Debutant, South Africa have been thrown into Group B with Germany, China PR and Spain.

Cameroon, who are making their second appearance at the tournament have been paired in Group E alongside Canada  New Zealand and Netherlands.

The championship will run from June 7 to July 7th 2019 and would be played across nine (9) cities – Paris, Lyon, Nice, Reims, Montpellier, Le Have, Valenciennes, Grenoble and Rennes.

The groups break down as follows:

Group A: France, Korea RPD, Norway, Nigeria

Group B: Germany, China PR, Spain, South Africa

Group C: Australia, Italy, Brazil, Jamaica

Group D: England, Scotland, Argentina, Japan

Group E: Canada, Cameroon, New Zealand, Netherlands

Group F: USA, Thailand, Chile, Sweden


More in African Football