Connect with us

By Dom Agbakpe,

Nigeria, South Africa and Cameroon will know their opponents when the draw for the eight (8th) edition of the FIFA Women’s World Cup takes place today, Saturday Dec 8.

The draw will be staged in Boulougne-Billancourt in the Seine Musicale Art centre in Paris at 17:00 GMT.

The twenty-four teams will be split into six (6) groups of four from four spot based on their FIFA Women’s World Ranking.

Nigeria are ranked 39th in the world, 1st in Africa, Cameroon 46th (2nd) and South Africa 48th (3rd).

The tournament will be held in France, from June 7 to July 7, and will be played across nine host cities namely – Paris, Lyon, Nice, Le Havre, Reims, Rennes, Valenciennes, Grenoble and Montpellier.

AWCON 18 champions, the Super Eagles are making their eight (8th) appearances, the Indomitable Lionesses, second (2) appearances – 2015 & 2019 and the Bayana Bayana, maiden appearance – 2019.

United States of America (USA) are the defending champions and the most successful country in the competition with three (3) titles.

Pot numbers    :     Teams

Pot 1 – England, France, USA, Canada, Germany, Australia

Pot 2 – Japan, Brazil, Netherlands, Norway, Sweden, Spain

Pot 3 – South Korea, China, Italy, Scotland, New Zealand, Thailand

Pot 4 – Argentina, Nigeria, Chile, Jamaica, Cameroon, South Africa


More in African Football