Connect with us


APR of Rwanda and Singida United of Tanzania will replace Ethiopia’s St. George and Yanga SC (Tanzania) in this year’s CECAFA Kagame Cup starting next week in Tanzania.

Yanga pulled out of the regional showpiece citing need to recover after a rigorous season which left them with many injuries.

While St. George, who were expected to make a comeback after a long absence withdrew to concentrate on defending their domestic league title.

The tournament will run from 28th June to 13th July in Tanzania.

Twelve teams placed in three groups will compete for the regional honors with top two in each group and the best two losers making the quarterfinals.

St. George were placed in Group C alongside Yanga, Simba SC and Dakadaha of Somalia.

All the groups;


Azam (TZ)

Vipers SC (UG)


Kator FC (S.SUD)


Rayon Sports (Rwanda)

Gor Mahia (KE)

Lydia Ludic (BUR)

Ports (DJI)


Singida (TZ)

Simba (TZ)

APR (Rwanda)

Dakadaha (SOM)


African Football Writer contributing @Soka25east | Commentator; appeared on @MySoccerAfrica, @KweseSports, @ntvkenya, others | Keen follower of African Football. E-mail:

More in