Connect with us

CECAFA Women's Senior Challenge

Harambee Starlets crowned champions of Cecafa Women’s Senior Challenge

Harambee Starlets crowned champions of Cecafa Women’s Senior Challenge

Undefeated Harambee Starlets are the Cecafa Women’s Senior Challenge Cup 2019 champions.

A double from Jentrix Shikangwa ensured Kenya picked up a 2-0 win over defending champions Tanzania  at Chamazi Sports Complex on Monday.

Shikangwa scored the opening goal for the David Ouma’s side in the 71st minute after both teams had shown firmness at the back for the better part of the encounter.

She then scored the second goal from the spot in the 88th minute to stretch the lead far beyond the reach of Kilimanjaro Queens.

The player ensured Kenya picked the win despite enjoying a goal possession of 45% compared to Tanzania’s 55%. Kenya also registered just one corner in a tightly fought match while the hosts got a total of four corners. 

Kilimanjaro Queens were hunting for their third consecutive Cecafa title after beating Kenya 2-1 in the last edition which was held in Rwanda in 2018.

Tanzania sailed all the way to the finals without tasting a defeat, topped Group A with nine points and scored a record 20 goals. They defeated South Sudan 9-0, whitewashed Burundi 4-0 before beating their cousins Zanzibar Queens 7-0.

They booked the final date after beating pre-tournament favourites Crested Cranes 1-0 with a goal which came in the first minute of added time through captain Aisha Rashid.

On the other hand, Kenya’s journey to the final was also an easy one as Ouma’s charges sailed through undefeated.

After a 12-0 win over Djibouti in the final Group B match, Kenya topped the pool after their initial 2-0 win over Ethiopia in the opener and a 3-0 win over Uganda  in the second group tie.

They reached the final after thumping Burundi 5-0 on November 23.

Kenya XI: Annette Kundu, Nelly Sawe, Dorcas Shikobe, Ruth Ingosi, Vivian Makokha, Sheril Angachi, Corazone Aquino, Cynthia Shilwatso, Janet Bundi, Mercy Airo, Mwanalima Jereko Adam.

Subs: Monica Odato, Judith Osimbo, Lydia Akoth, Jentrix Shikangwa, Siliya Lumasia, Lucy Akoth, Situma Topister

Tanzania XI: Najat Abass Idrisa, Happyness Hezron Mwaipaja, Amina Alli Bilali, Donisia Daniel Minja, Mwanahamisi Omary Shurua, Anastas Antony Katunzi, Junitha Aminiel Singano, Fatuma Khatibu Salum, Asha Saada Rashid, Enekia Kasonga Lunyamila, Asha Shabani Hamza.

Subs: Zubeda Mgunda, Tausi Swallehe Abdallah, Opa Clement Tukumbuke, Eva Wailes Jackson, Janeth Christopher Pangamwene, Phermena Daniel Kizima, Diana Lucas Msewa, Stumai Abdallah Athumani, Fatuma Issa Maonyo.

Click to comment

You must be logged in to post a comment Login

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

More in CECAFA Women's Senior Challenge