Connect with us

Africa Cup of Nations

How will Bafana Bafana setup at Afcon 2019?

How will Bafana Bafana setup at Afcon 2019?

South Africa have the right opportunity to get back among the elite on the continent, by winning the 2019 Total Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Bafana Bafana are searching for a second African title of course having participated in 9 Afcons, the first being when they won it on home soil in 1996. Hosting the World Cup in 2010 gave the Nation a huge boost in terms of organization and infrastructure but still many South Africans am sure will be itching to see the team win silverware.

A chance presents itself in Egypt 2019 with coach Stuart Baxter having assembled a talented group of hard-working players with the ability to beat any team.

Baxter will be missing the services of Keegan Dolly who has been ruled out due to injury and Rivaldo Coetze who has been given time to attend to his critically ill mother. Ben Motshwari, Fortune Makaringa and Kermit Erasmus are the other players who won’t feature in Egypt.

However, there is still enough ammunition in the 23-man squad. The likes of Percy Tau, Dean Furman and Thembinkosi LORCH can bring the needed balance for Bafana.

Baxter has talented goalkeepers at his disposal, Darren Kweet, Ronwen Williams and Bruce Bvuma all capable of delivering when called upon. In defense, there also many options of course with Ramahlwe Mphahlele (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Thulani Hlatshwayo (Bidvest Wits)
Sakhile Innocent Francis Meala (Orlando Pirates) and S’Fiso Sandile Hlanti (Bidvest Wits) all in Baxter’s plans.

It will be interesting to see how South Africa set up at the Afcon in Egypt. They are drawn in a tough Group D alongside Ivory Coast, Morocco and Namibia.

Darren KEET (Bidvest Wits)
Ronwen Hayden WILLIAMS (SuperSport United)
Bruce Hlamulo BVUMA (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Daniel Antonio CARDOSO ( Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Ramahlwe MPHAHLELE (Kaizer Chiefs FC)
Thulani HLATSHWAYO (Bidvest Wits)
Sakhile Innocent Francis MAELA (Orlando Pirates)
S’Fiso Sandile HLANTI (Bidvest Wits FC)
Buhlebuyeza Wilson MKHWANAZI (Bidvest Wits)
Thamsanqa Innocent MKHIZE (Cape Town City FC)

Bongani ZUNGU (Amiens SC)
Hlompho Alpheus KEKANA (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Dean FURMAN (SuperSport United)
Kamohelo MOKOTJO (Brentford FC)
Samuel Tiyani MABUNDA (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Thulani Caleb SERERO (SBV Vitesse FC)
Thembinkosi Christopher LORCH (Orlando Pirates FC)
Themba ZWANE (Mamelodi Sundowns)
Lebo MOTHIBA Racing Club De Strasbourg FC (France)
Percy Muzi TAU (Royal Union Saint FC (Belgium)
Lars VELDWIJK (Sparta Rotterdam)
Lebogang Kgosana MABOE (Mamelodi Sundowns FC)
Sibusiso VILAKAZI (Mamelodi Sundowns)

An African football Journalist based in the town of Kabwe, Zambia.

More in Africa Cup of Nations