Connect with us

Interim Bafana Bafana coach Ntseki names squad to face Zambia Chipolopolo

Interim Bafana Bafana coach Ntseki names squad to face Zambia Chipolopolo

Molefi Ntseki, interim coach of Bafana Bafana, brought out all the big guns when he named the squad that will face Zambia in Lusaka in September.

The friendly match is the first outing for Bafana since Stuart Baxter’s resignation from the head coach post earlier in the month.

Ntseki, who had served as the Brit’s assistant, was put in charge on a caretaker basis and, on Friday, he named his first squad as senior national team coach.

The former SA Under-17 coach retained most of the players who did in the 2019 Africa Cup of Nations, adding just a few who did not make the trip to Egypt.

Bidvest Wits goalkeeper Brandon Peterson, who recently signed for the club from Ajax Cape Town, is in among the newcomers, and is named alongside ex-Students shot-stopper Darren Keet, and reigning PSL Goalkeeper of the Season Ronwen Williams.

Among the defenders, Kaizer Chiefs hardman Erick Mathoho returns to the fold after a season affected by injury, with Mamelodi Sundowns utility player Thapelo Morena and Cape Town City’s Thato Mokeke also earning call-ups.

The midfield is mostly populated by players who took Bafana to the quarterfinals in Egypt, who are joined by Sundowns midfielder Rivaldo Coetzee, who had to withdraw from the squad just weeks before departure to Egypt. Also in the mix is Montpellier winger Keagan Dolly, who returns from an injury that ruled him out of selection.

Racing Strasbourg striker Lebo Mothiba is retained among the forward, and there is also a return for Kermit Erasmus, as well as Supersport United’s in-form marksman Bradley Grobler.

Bafana will face Chipolopolo on Saturday, 7 September at Nkoloma Stadium in Lusaka.

Bafana Bafana squad to play Zambia in a friendly on 7 September 

Goalkeepers: Darren Keet (OH Leuven FC, Belgium), Ronwen Williams (Supersport United), Brandon Petersen (Bidvest Wits).

Defenders: Eric Mathoho (Kaizer Chiefs), Buhle Mkhwanazi, Thulani Hlatshwayo (Wits), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thamsanqa Mkhize, Thato Mokeke (CT City), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates).

Midfielders: Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford FC), Rivaldo Coetzee, Lebogang Maboe, (Sundowns), Dean Furman (SS), Lebogang Phiri (Guingamp), Bongani Zungu (Amiens), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Thulani Serero (Vitesse), Percy Tau (Club Brugge), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier).

Forwards: Lebo Mothiba (Strasbourg, France), Bradley Grobler (Supersport United), Kermit Erasmus (Cape Town City).

Interim Coach: Molefi Ntseki.

Must See

More in