Connect with us

Football Leagues

Kenya Women’s Premier League (KWPL) reverts back to zonal format after two seasons in a united league system.

Kenya Women’s Premier League (KWPL) reverts back to zonal format after two seasons in a united league system.

By Agnes Amondi ,

Kenya Women’s Premier League (KWPL) clubs have resolved to revert back to the zonal league format ahead of the 2020 season, following a pre-season meeting by club representatives held at the FKF headquarters on Tuesday, February 27.

Clubs will be divided in two zones; A and B comprising of eight teams each. Each zone will be played in a round robbin system with the winner from each side meeting for the championship final to determine the overall winner of the league.

Bottom placed sides from each zone will be relegated to Division 1.

Zone A will comprise of:

Ulinzi Starlets, Gaspo Women, Kibera Girls Soccer Academy, Thika Queens, Kayole Starlet, Zetech Sparks, Makolanders, and Mathare United Women.

Meanwhile, zone B will be made up of Wadadia, Vihiga Queens, Nakuru West Queens, Oserian Ladies, Kisumu All Starlets, Trans Nzoia Falcons, SEP Oyugis, and Eldoret Falcons.

Also, the league which was already postponed by a week to February 29 will now kick off on March 7.
Revised league schedule

Eight fixtures are lined up on the opening weekend on Saturday, March 7.

Defending champions Vihiga Queens start their campaign against Wadadia at the Mumias Sports Complex.

In another zone B tie, debutants Nakuru West Queens clash with Oserian Ladies at the Afraha stadium on Saturday. 

Sunday will see Kisumu All Starlets tackle Trans Nzoia Falcons in Moi Stadium as SEP Oyugis premier against Eldoret Falcon at Kotieno Primary School.

Ulinzi Starlets kick off zone A fixtures against Gaspo Women at Kenyatta University. At the same time, Kibera Girls Soccer Academy clash with Thika Queens at the Stima Members club.

Camp Toyoyo will host Makolanders vs Mathare United Women on Sunday whilst Kayole Starlets and Zetech Spark battle at the Stima Members club.

Opening fixturesZone A

Ulinzi Starlets vs Gaspo Women – Kenyatta University – Saturday March 7

Kibera Girls Soccer Academy vs Thika Queens – Stima Members club – Saturday March 7
Kayole Starlets vs Zetech Spark – Stima Members club – Sunday March 8
Makolanders vs Mathare United Women – Sunday March 8
Zone B

Wadadia vs Vihiga Queens – Mumias Sports Complex – Saturday March 7
Nakuru West Queens vs Oserian Ladies – Afraha stadium – Saturday March 7
Kisumu All Starlets vs Trans Nzoia Falcons – Moi Stadium – Sunday March 8
SEP Oyugis vs Eldoret Falcons – Kotieno Primary School – Sunday March 8

More in Football Leagues