Connect with us

FIFA, The World’s Football Governing body has announced 21 September as official date of the Japan 2016 Club World Cup draws.

The tourney which is billed for 8-12 December will be contended by six Confederation’s Champions league winners and one club from the hosting nation.

Thus far, four clubs have already booked their tickets. OFC Champions league winners Auckland City from New Zealand, Copa Libertadores Champions league winners Athletico Nacional, Liga Mexico Champions and CONCACAF Champions league reigners Club America, UEFA Champions league winners and Spanish giants Real Madrid have already qualified.

The list of participants will be sealed when CAF and AFC Champions league plus the host’s J-league winners are known.

Zesco United from Zambia, Mumelonid Sundowns of South Africa, Morocco’s Wydad Casablanca and Egyptian Zamalek are in the race for Africa’s berth in Japan as the 2016 CAF Champions enters the semifinals stage.

It’s an all Korean league affair as FC Seoul and Jeonbuk Hyundai face off in the semifinals of the AFC Champions league. The other semifinal tie see United Arab Emirates powerhouse Al Ain crossing swords with Qatar’s Al Jaish for the Asia’s berth at the 2016 FIFA Club World Cup.


The J-league title race is tight as Kawasaki Frontale and Urawa Red Diamond share top of the log with 25 points each after Matchday 11.

Yokohama and Osaka were announced as hosting cities of the 13th edition of the FIFA Club World Cup.

African football writer, covering the game across the continent. Covered the U-20 Africa Cup of the Nations, in Zambia.

More in FIFA World Cup