Connect with us

African Football

Afcon 2019: Pharaohs hunt for number eight

Afcon 2019: Pharaohs hunt for number eight

The host nation Egypt are definitely one of the favourites to be crowned Champions of the continent. Their squad led by coach Javier Aguirre, just like a Mexican Mariachi, possess a certain repertoire of excellence. Which begs the question, “How will Egyptians perform on the biggest stage of them all?”

Of course being, the most successful national team in Africa and having won the Africa Cup of Nations a record seven times, 1957, 1959,1986, 2006, 2008 and 2010, the Arab Nation are among the strong contenders to lift the trophy.

Javier Aguirre will be looking to step into the big shoes left by legendary Egyptian coach Hassan Shehata who was the last manager to lead the Pharaohs to an African crown. Shehata himself is the only coach in Afcon history to win three successive titles, 2006, 2008 and 2010.

Hassan Shehata pictured in 2010 as he led Egypt to the Afcon crown

The Egyptian team have won two titles on home soil in 1959 and 2006 which suggests that maybe an eighth title could be on the way, more especially that they are at home with the 12th Player behind them.

Egypt came close to the crown in Gabon 2017, but lost out 2-1 in the final against Cameroon.

Liverpool talisman Mohammed Salah headlines the host nation’s team alongside Mohamed Elneny and Ahmed Hegazi, who ply their trade in England for Arsenal and West Bromwich Albion, respectively.

Egypt who are Group A alongside DR Congo Uganda and Zimbabwe begin their Afcon campaign with a tie against Zimbabweans on Friday 21 June 2019. Kick off is at 23:00 East African Time.

Full Squad:

Goalkeepers: Ahmed El-Shennawi (Pyramids FC), Mohamed El-Shenawy (Ahly), Mahmoud Genish (Zamalek)

Defenders: Ahmed Elmohamady (Aston Villa), Ahmed Hegazi (West Bromwich Albion), Omar Gaber (Pyramids FC), Ali Ghazal (Feirense), Ayman Ahsraf (Ahly), Mahmoud Hamdy (Zamalek), Baher Elmohamady (Ismaily), Ahmed Ayman Mansour (Pyramids FC), Mahmoud Alaa (Zamalek)

Midfielders: Walid Soliman (Ahly), Abdallah El-Said (Pyramids FC), Mohamed Elneny (Arsenal), Tarek Hamed (Zamalek), Mahmoud “Trezeguet” Hassan (Kasimpasa), Amr Warda (Atromitos), Nabil Emad (Pyramids FC)

Forwards: Ahmed Aly (Arab Contractors), Mohamed Salah (Liverpool), Marwan Mohsen (Ahly), Ahmed “Kouka” Hassan (Olympiacos)

An African football Journalist based in the town of Kabwe, Zambia.

More in African Football