Connect with us

South Africa national team coach Shakes Mashaba has named a squad of 25-players for the 2018 Russia FIFA World Cup Qualifier against Burkina Faso in two weeks time.

Bafana Bafana will face the Stallions at Stade Du 4 Auot in Ouagadougou on Saturday, 8 October 2016.

Kickoff is at 18h00 local time (20h00 SA Time).

Mashaba has recalled Europe-based trio May Mahlangu, Ayanda Patosi and Thulani Serero for the crucial clash with Brighton Mhlongo’s impressive run of form for Orlando Pirates rewarded with a call-up.

The biggest surprise – undoubtedly – is the inclusion of Bidvest Wits forward Eleazar Rodgers who makes his long-awaited return to the national fold following a good start to the 2016-17 season with the Clever Boys.

Goalkeepers: Jackson Mabokgwane, Itumeleng Khune, Brighton Mhlongo

Defenders: Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Rivaldo Coetzee, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Abbubakar Mobara, Diamond Thopola, Tebogo Langerman, Eric Mathoho, Thabo Matlaba

Midfielders: Dean Furman, May Mahlangu, Thulani Serero, Oupa Manyisa, Ayanda Patosi, Keagan Dolly, Aubrey Modiba, Mpho Makola, Hlompho Kekana

Strikers: Eleazar Rodgers, Thamsanqa Gabuza, Thobani Mncwango, Sibusiso Vilakazi, Tokelo Rantie.

South Africa have been drawn in CAF qualifying group D, alongside Burkina Faso, Cape Verde and Senegal.

Appointed by CAF President Dr.Ahmad as CAF Media Expert. An expert on African football with over 13 years experience ,always with an ear to the ground with indepth knowledge of the game. I have worked for top publications including 7 years at until i founded to quench the thirst of football lovers across the continent. I have trained young upcoming journalists who are now a voice in African football.I have covered World Cup,AFCON,CHAN,Champions League,Confederations Cup,Cecafa,Cosafa,Wafu and many other football tournaments across the World. Founder Football Africa Arena(FAA),Founder

More in African Football