Connect with us

Dstv Premiership

Sundowns beat SuperSport United to clinch Dstv Premiership crown

Sundowns beat SuperSport United to clinch Dstv Premiership crown

Mamelodi Sundowns clinched a record fourth consecutive Premier Soccer League title with a 3-1 win over 10-man SuperSport United on Wednesday at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium.

United’s game-plan got disorganized in less than 10 minutes into the first half as their DRC international Guily Manziba received straight red after he wrongfully tackled Sphelele Mkhulise.

This was blow to Matsatsantsa who were forced to continue with the match with one man down till the last minute and this gave an advantage to the home side who started creating a lot of scoring chances.

In the 31st minute substitute Lebohang Maboe opened the scoring account after receiving a brilliant deliver on the left from former United player Aubrey Modiba.

The score was 1-0 to Sundowns.

Eight minutes later Modiba netted Sundowns’ second strike with a perfect cross on the right to make the score 2-0.

Four minutes before halftime it was Modiba again who ran riot after setting up Themba Zwane who tapped in a third goal in the 43rd minute.

The halftime score was 3-0 to Sundowns.

In the second half Matsatsantsa came back with a positive attitude and approach as they pushed for goals with the opportunities they created and not allowing Sundowns some space to create some more chances.

In the 53rd minute United conceded a penalty after a hand ball by young defender Keenan Phillips.

Ronwen Williams pulled off a brilliant save and denied Sundowns attacking midfielder Themba Zwane.

In the 64th minute Thami Gabuza was substituted by forward Iqraam Rayners whose presence made a lot of impact.

In the 76th minute forward Bradley Grobler was denied by the upright after releasing a close range powerful shot with his left foot.

Midfielder Teboho Mokoena pulled one for Matsatsantsa with brilliant strike just outside the box after he was set up by substitute Rayners in the 85th minute.

Matsatsantsa pushed for the second goal as Rayners whipped in another good delivery to Ghampani Lungu whose anticipated header was blocked by former Matsatsantsa shot-stopper Denis Onyango and Mokoena followed up with a 50-50 challenge with Onyango who got injured and had to be substituted after the two collided with one minute remaining.

The final score was 3-1 to Sundowns who were crowned the inaugural DStv Premiership champions.


Must See

More in Dstv Premiership