Connect with us

African Football

Togo signal end of Adebayor era after omission from squad to face Comoros

Togo signal end of Adebayor era after omission from squad to face Comoros

Togo have signalled the end of an era with the omission of both captain Emmanuel Adebayor and long standing midfielder Alaixys Romao from their squad for the 2022 World Cup qualifiers against the Comoros Islands.

Both have played for Togo for more than a decade and were the last players from the squad that went to 2006 World Cup in Germany.

Fullback James Olufade, whose eligibility to play for Togo was unsuccessfully challenged by the Gambia during the last Africa Cup of Nations Cup, is in the squad picked by veteran coach Claude le Roy.

Among the new faces in the squad are players who have featured in Togo’s CHAN-2020 qualifiers, including Klousseh Agbozo, Abdoul Moubarack Aigba and Abdoul Sabourh Bode.


Goalkeepers: Abdoul Moubarack Aigba (AS OTR), Malcolm Barcola (Olympique Lyonnais, France), Sabirou Bassa (Coton Sport, Cameroon)

Defenders: Klousseh Agbozo (Dyto Lome), Wilson Akakpo (Al Ittihad, Egypt), Abdoul Sabourh Bode (ASC Kara), Dakonam Djene (Getafe, Spain), Steve Lawson (Livingston, Scotland), Jamesa Olufade (US Douala, cvamereoon), Hakim Ouro-Sama (Belelenses, Portugal),

Midfielders: Kokouvi Amekoiudi (Dyto Lome), Lalawélé Atakora (Kazma, Kuwait), Franco Atchou (Fremad, Denmark), Matthieu Dossevi (Toulouse, France), Akaté Gnama (AS Togo Port), Kossi Jean Ozou (ASC Kara), Gilles Sunu (BB Erzurumspor, Turkey)

Forwards: Floyd Ayite (Fulham, England), Ihlas Bebou (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany), Kevin Denkey (Nimes, France), Kodjo Fo Doh Laba (Al Ain, United Arab Emirates), Peniel Mlapa (Al Ittihad Kalba, United Arab Emirates), Marouf Tchakei (ASKO Kara).

More in African Football