Connect with us

Africa Cup of Nations

Uganda Cranes coach Micho names 30 man squad to prepare for Burkina Faso

Uganda Cranes coach Micho names 30 man squad to prepare for Burkina Faso

Uganda Cranes  head coach Milutin ‘Micho’ Sredojevic unveiled a 30-man squad to begin preparations   to face Burkina Faso in a double header in Group D of the 2017 Africa Cup of Nations qualifiers.

Micho named 18 foreign-based players, including Mamelodi Sundowns keeper Dennis Onyango, Standard Liege midfielder Farouk Miya and Bloemfontein Celtics striker Geofrey Massa, while renewing his faith in 10 locally-based 2016 CHAN campaigners.

Young prodigy Proline Soccer Academy 17-year-old wonderkid Edrisa Lubega, who had been included in a provisional squad ahead of their African Nations Championship campaign, has been handed another chance to impress at senior level.

Lying top of their group on maximum points, following successive wins over Botswana and Comoros, Uganda will battle the Stallions in Ouagadougou on 26 March before hosting their opponents at Mandela National Stadium in Namboole three days later.


Goalkeepers: Dennis Onyango (Mamelodi Sundowns, South Africa), Robert Odongkara (St George, Ethiopia), James Alitho (Vipers, Uganda), Salim Jamal (El Merreikh, Sudan)

Defenders: Denis Iguma (Al Itihad, Lebanon), Isaac Isinde (St George, Ethiopia), Joseph Nsubuga (Bright Stars, Uganda), Joseph Ochaya (KCCA, Uganda), Denis Okot Oola (KCCA, Uganda), Isaac Muleme (SC Villa, Uganda), Murushid Jjuuko (Simba, Tanzania), Hassan Wasswa Mawanda (Al Shorta, Iraq), Timothy Awanyi (KCCA, Uganda), Bernard Muwanga (Bright Stars, Uganda)

Midfielders: Mike Azira (Colorado Rapids, US), Aucho Khalid (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Moses Oloya (Becamex Binh Duong), Yassar Mugerwa (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), Tonny Mawejje (Knattspyrnufélagið Þróttur, Iceland), Ivan Ntege (KCCA, Uganda), William Luwagga Kizito (Feirense, Portugal), Mike Sserumaga (SC Villa, Uganda), Godfrey Walusimbi (Gor Mahia, Kenya), Farouk Miya (Standard Liege, Belgium)

Forwards: Geofrey Massa (Bloemfontein Celtics, South Africa), Emmanuel Okwi (Sonderjsyke, Denmark), Erisa Ssekisambu (Vipers, Uganda), Hamis ‘Diego’ Kiiza (Simba, Tanzania), Ceasar Okhuti (KCCA, Uganda), Edrisa Lubega (Proline, Uganda)

Appointed by CAF President Dr.Ahmad as CAF Media Expert. An expert on African football with over 13 years experience ,always with an ear to the ground with indepth knowledge of the game. I have worked for top publications including 7 years at until i founded to quench the thirst of football lovers across the continent. I have trained young upcoming journalists who are now a voice in African football.I have covered World Cup,AFCON,CHAN,Champions League,Confederations Cup,Cecafa,Cosafa,Wafu and many other football tournaments across the World. Founder Football Africa Arena(FAA),Founder

More in Africa Cup of Nations