Connect with us

African Football

Yanga Crowned 2015 Community Shield Champions.

Yanga Crowned 2015 Community Shield Champions.

FT Yanga SC 0-0 Azam FC (Pen, 8-7)

Tanzania Champions Yanga SC beat rivals Azam FC 8-7 via penalties to win the league curtain raiser for the second time in a row over the same opponent.

The tightly contested match played at the National Stadium on Saturday, August 22, settled for a barren draw at full time and the duel had to be decided via the dreaded spot kicks.

Ivorian Kipre Tche Tche converted the opening kick for Azam, before Yanga’s captain Nadir Haroub watched his being saved by Azam keeper Manula.

Skipper John Bocco converted the second for Azam, before Haruna Niyonzima opened Yanga’s account with the first successful convertion.

Hamid Mao,Aggrey Morris,Jean Mugiraneza,Erasto Nyoni and Shamori Kapombe all scored their spot kicks for Azam with Pascal Wawa and Ame Ally missing theirs.

On the Yanga’s side, Deus Kaseke, Amissi Tambwe, Andrey Coutinho, Mwashiuya, Thaban Kamusoko,Mbuyu Twite, and Yondani were also successful with their spot kicks.

The win is a sweet revenge for Yanga who were knocked out of 2015 CECAFA Kageme Cup by Azam in the quarters via penalies.

Tanzania league kick-off is on September 12,2015.


African Football Writer contributing @Soka25east | Commentator; appeared on @MySoccerAfrica, @KweseSports, @ntvkenya, others | Keen follower of African Football. E-mail:

More in African Football