Connect with us

Zambia:Kalengo Scores a Hatrick of Awards

Zambia:Kalengo Scores a Hatrick of Awards

Football Association of Zambia Yesterday held it’s Award Gala at Radison Blue hotel and it was Zesco United that dominated the event. The 2015 League Champions and the Cup Champions both received their cheques yesterday.

Zesco United forward Winston Kalengo won the 2015 MTN FAZ Super League Player of the Year award. Kalengo, 29, beat teammate Clatous Chama
and Zanaco’s Moses Phiri to the coveted award presented to him by Minister of Youth and Sport Vincent Mwale at the MTN
awards ceremony hosted at the Radisson Blu Hotel in Lusaka.

Kalengo was also given the Most Disciplined Player award to bring his awards on the night to three, having already won the Top
Scorer of the Year award after scoring 18 goals in the league and a further 6 for the Zambia national football team.

Meanwhile, Lusaka Dynamos teenage striker Conlyde Luchanga, who scored 9 goals in his first season in the Super League, beat Benedict Chepeshi and Boyd Mkandawire to
be named Young Player of the Year.

Luchanga, 17, was a revelation in 2015 leading to his invitation to the Zambia U20
national football team but it was at the senior national football team where he announced his arrival on the international
scene when he scored on debut in a CHAN 2016 qualifier against Mozambique.

The young striker was also co-opted into the U23 national football team for the 2015
Caf U23 Africa Cup of Nations hosted in Senegal where he scored a goal against South Africa.

Zesco United coach George Lwandamina was named Coach of the Year for the second successive year after guiding his team to a
successful title defence beating Barclays Cup winner Bilton Musonda and Nkwazi’s Elijah

Changwe Kalale and Satchmo Chakawa who both survived a fatal traffic accident on their way to joining the national team in December 2014, were jointly awarded the Football Association of Zambia (FAZ)
president’s Meritorious award.
Republican President His Excellency Edgar Chagwa Lungu, who is Patron of the FAZ,was also awarded the FAZ president’s Meritorious award.

Other winners on the night were Mercy Zulu who walked away with the Best Assistant Referee award as well as Janny Sikazwe who was given the Referee of the Year award.

Freelance Football Writer |Freelance sports presenter TV & Radio|Sports Analyst|Social media manager|


Must See

More in