Connect with us

Women's Football

CAF bestow Egypt hosting rights for maiden Women’s Champions League

CAF bestow Egypt hosting rights for maiden Women’s Champions League

by Agnes Amondi

The Confederation of African Football has awarded the hosting rights of the inaugural edition of the CAF Women’s Champions League to Egypt, during an executive meeting held in Kigali, Rwanda.

Seven teams will qualify for the finals penciled for November through zonal competitions. They will join an Egyptian club who earns automatic qualification by virtue of being hosts.

In March, the Royal Moroccan Football Federation announced via its website that they had been named the host of the women’s club competition. CAF refuted these claims abd noted that they were yet to decide on the host nation.

Following this development, North Africa is now set to host two major women’s tournaments – the Champions League and the expanded Africa Women’s Cup of Nations (AWCON) that will take place in Morocco.

CAF had opened the bid for hosting rights for member association on March 4 before a later extension to April 15 for the women’s club championship which was launched in 2020.

Earlier last September, South Africa expressed interest to stage the competition, while Nigeria and Equatorial Guinea were also expected to join the race for the club’s tourney bid after their botched Awcon 2022 quests.


Must See

More in Women's Football