Connect with us

The South African U20 men’s National Team (Amajita) coach Thabo Senong has called up 31 players to begin preparations for the upcoming CAF U20 Africa Cup of Nations to be held in Lusaka and Ndola, Zambia from 26 February to 12 March 2017.

The players  reported for a two-week training camp on Thursday, 26 January 2017 where they begun their preparations. Senong says the emphasis on the early camp will be on fitness.

“This is going to be an intensive camp, as it is our first phase of preparations for the year. The technical team and I have already begun with our strategies for our group in the U20 AFCON”-Senong told

Group A will see hosts Zambia play against Egypt, Mali and Guinea, while South Africa has been drawn in group B alongside Senegal, Sudan and Cameroon. The semi finalists of the 20th edition of the CAF U20 AFCON will qualify for the 2017 FIFA U20 World Cup to be played in South Korea from 20 May – 11 June 2017.

AMAJITA 2017 U20 AFCON fixture:
27 February 2017 18h00 Cameroon vs South Africa Levy Mwanawasa Stadium, Ndola
2 March 2017 18h00 South Africa vs Senega Levy Mwanawasa Stadium, Ndola
5 March 2017 15h00 Sudan vs South Africa Heroes Stadium, Lusaka

First phase squad announcement:
Sanele Tshabalala Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
Darren Johnson Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
Mondli Mpoto Supersport United FC (SA)

Aghmat Ceres Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
Sirgio Kammies Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
Reeve Frosler Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
Notha Ngcobo Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
Malebogo Modise Mamelodi Sundowns FC (SA)
Katleho Mohamme Supersport United FC (SA)
Givemore Khupe Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
Shane Saralina Ajax Cape Town FC (SA)
Siyabonga Ngezana Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
Tercius Malepe Orlando Pirates FC (SA)

Thabo Cele Real Sporting Clubbe (Portugal)
Wiseman Meyiwa Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
Sipho Mbule Supersport United FC (SA)
Thabani Zuke Golden Arrows FC (SA)
Teboho Mokoena Supersport United FC (SA)
Katlego Ntshabeleng University Of Johannesburg FC (SA)
Sydney Mtshweni Supersport United FC (SA)
Duncan Apollis Cape Town City FC (SA)
Nkosingiphile Ngcobo Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
Sibongakonke Mbatha Bidvest Wits FC (SA)
Kobamelo Kodisang Platinum Stars FC (SA)

Luther Singh Unattached
Liam Jordan Spoting Lisbon FC ( Portugal)
Luyanda Ntshangase Maritzburg United FC (SA)
Menzi Ndwandwe Amazulu FC (SA)
Itumeleng Shopane Kaizer Chiefs FC (SA)
Khanyisa Mayo Supersport United (SA)
Phakamani Mahlambi Bidvest Wits FC (SA)


Freelance Football Writer |Freelance sports presenter TV & Radio|Sports Analyst|Social media manager|

More in