Connect with us


Tanzania crowned COSAFA champions

Tanzania crowned COSAFA champions

The Twiga Stars of Tanzania are the champions of the COSAFA Women’s Championship 2021.
Tanzania defeated Malawi 1-0 in the final played on Saturday at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Port Elizabeth, South Africa.

Enekia Lunyamila netted the lone goal in the 64th minute off a rebound after Malawi’s goalkeeper Rusth Mhango had parried the ball back into play.

Earlier Fazila Chembekezo and Ireen Khumalo also had missed chances for Malawi.

The exciting final graced by CAF 5th Vice President Kanizat Ibrahim saw the two teams put up a good show. After a goalless first half the Twiga Stars turned to dominate play as they attacked more and created several scoring opportunities.

Mwanahamisi Omary Shurua had two good chances for Tanzania, but was late to shoot as the defenders cleared out of danger.

“This is a very sweet win. We worked hard as a team to win this trophy,” said a happy Twiga Stars captain Amina Bilali who was voted MVP.

Bakari Nyundo Shime, the Twiga Stars coach was all praise for his team that stuck to instructions. “They listened to what we told them and I am proud to be coach of this team,” added a happy Shime.

Malawi coach Mcnelbert Kadzuwa said his team had missed some good chances. “This has been our best performance in this tournament and we take positive lessons from here,” added Kadzuwa.

Tanzania who were a guest side together with Uganda and South Sudan opened their campaign with a 3-0 win against Zimbabwe, before stopping 2020 runners-up Botswana 2-0. They went on to defeat South Sudan 3-0 in the last group match before ejecting Zambia in the semi final stage 3-2 on penalty shoot outs after a 1-1 draw in 90 minutes.

Tanzania now hold titles in all the women’s categories in COSAFA, Under-17, Under-20 and senior football.

In the play-off match played earlier Zambia beat South Africa 4-3 in penalty shoot outs after the match had ended 1-1.

Must See

More in COSAFA Cup