Connect with us


Women’s Afcon to be expanded to 12 teams

Women’s Afcon to be expanded to 12 teams

The Women’s Africa Cup of Nations has been expanded from 8 to 12 teams, according to an announcement made by the Confederation of African Football.

The CAF Executive Committee has taken a decision to expand from the current 8 teams to 12 to create competition at the biannual event.

CAF President Ahmad Ahmad confirmed the change on his twitter after Wednesday’s meeting, “We took a great decision today : feminine’s #AFCON will now engage 12 teams ! They only were 8 until now.”

The last Africa Women’s Cup of Nations was held last year in Ghana with Nigeria emerging as Champions for the 11th time after beating South Africa 4-3 on penalties.

An African football Journalist based in the town of Kabwe, Zambia. Kelvin is a former Media Officer at Kabwe Warriors FC, a professional team that plays in the Zambian Super Division. He worked there for three years. He is also a freelance Photographer and Graphic designer. A co-presenter of a Sports Show on Power FM local radio station in Kabwe.


Must See

More in AWCON